Deliberation Laboratory

With the Deliberation Laboratory (DeLab), we build a virtual moderator that uses artificial intelligence to recognize when discussions in social media are becoming increasingly destructive in character. In addition, the virtual moderator should also intervene in the debate to prevent escalation.

If one of the core elements of the European integration project is to create a single, deliberative, public sphere, then recent events suggest that project is set to fail. Far from a Europe-wide sphere of “public reason”, recent crisis becomes most evident on social media like Twitter: especially when it comes to matters of identity, users repeatedly attack each other in highly emotional terms, focussing on what divides people, not what unites them. With Deliberation Laboratory (DeLab), we develop a transformative online testing environment that allows us to explain the nature, causes, and consequences of citizens’ perceptions in deliberative public, online dialogue across languages. By developing a virtual moderator that can follow different cultural scripts, we are able to test the conditions under which citizens and groups evaluate what they see as trustworthy and believable in online communication. In particular, we focus on the Aristotle’s rhetorical triad – logos, ethos, pathos – as each of these elements have shown to shape citizens’ perceptions. With DeLab, we propose a conversational AI intervention system supporting constructive online engagement within the Tweet limits of 280 characters and beyond.

The problem

One of the many challenges in our society is a lack of interpersonal mutual understanding. When it comes to matters of identity, social media users repeatedly attack each other in highly emotional terms, always anxious to emphasize what divides rather than unites.

The current solution

Since human moderators are unable to oversee a total of, for instance, 500 million tweets a day, moderation mostly means "deletion". As a response to the increasing online incivility and verbal aggression, some news sites either make comments gated or completely remove them from their sites.

Our proposed solution

Imagine a virtual moderator enters the fray in real time. Imagine the virtual moderator can detect when things are getting destructive. Image the moderator intervenes by allowing users to go, for instance, through a systematized set of argument chains to make up users' minds on a certain issue.

Image
The project is funded for 4 years by the VolkswagenStiftung within their funding line Artificial Intelligence and the Society of the Future.

01 Aug 2021

Project DeLab Begins

The collaborative project DeLab starts. Our new website is online and we look forward to dig deeper into social media analyss.

01 Aug 2021

The current approach to controlling insults and hate messages in social media goes no further than deleting the messages. We therefore want to develop a virtual moderator that uses artificial intelligence to recognize when discussions in social media are becoming increasingly destructive in character. In addition, the virtual moderator should also intervene in the debate and help to prevent escalation.

Deliberation Laboratory

Mit dem Deliberation Laboratory (DeLab) entwickeln wir einen virtuellen Moderator, der auf Basis künstlicher Intelligenz einerseits erkennt, wann Diskussionen in sozialen Medien einen zunehmend destruktiven Charakter aufweisen und andererseits intervenierend in die Debatte eingreift. Der virtuelle Moderator soll dazu beitragen, eine Eskalation der Diskussionen in sozialen Medien zu verhindern.

Eines der Kernelemente der europäischen Integration ist die Vision eines gemeinsamen, deliberativen, öffentlichen Raumes. Dieses Projekt ist jedoch dem Scheitern nahe und ein europäischer Raum der “öffentlichen Vernunft” scheint nicht zu existieren. Das zeigt sich insbesondere in sozialen Medien wie Twitter: Vor allem bei Fragen der Identität werden Nutzer und Nutzerinnen emotional und attackieren sich gegenseitig; immer darauf bedacht, das Trennende und nicht die Gemeinsamkeiten hervorzuheben. Mit dem Deliberation Laboratory (DeLab) entwickeln wir eine transformative online Testumgebung, mit der wir die Herkunft, Gründe und Konsequenzen der öffentlichen Wahrnehmung in deliberativen öffentlichen Online-Debatten für verschiedene Sprachen erklären können. Mit der Entwicklung eines virtuellen Moderators, der verschiedene kulturelle Hintergründe berücksichtigt, werden wir die Bedingungen testen, unter denen Bürger und Bürgerinnen den Informationen in der Online-Kommunikation Glauben schenken. Wir konzentrieren uns dabei vor allem auf die Trias von Aristoteles – logos, ethos, pathos, da jedes der drei Elemente die Wahrnehmung von Bürgern und Bürgerinnen beeinflussen kann. Das Projekt DeLab entwickelt ein AI Interventionssystem, mit dem Kommunikation in sozialen Medien gestärkt werden kann, sowohl mit Tweets von 280 Zeichen als auch darüber hinaus. 

Die Herausforderung

Eine der größten gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen ist ein fehlender deliberativer öffentlicher Raum. Vor allem bei Fragen der Identität werden Nutzer und Nutzerinnen emotional und attackieren sich gegenseitig; immer darauf bedacht, das Trennende und nicht die Gemeinsamkeiten hervorzuheben

Die derzeitige Lösung

Da Moderatoren und Moderatorinnen nur sehr schlecht viele Millionen Nachrichten am Tag kontrollieren können, bedeutet Moderation zumeist nur "Löschen". Als Antwort auf das zunehmende raue Klima in sozialen Medien, sind einige Seiten dazu übergegangen, ihre Kommentarspalten zu schließen oder setzen eine Anmeldung voraus.

Unser Beitrag

Stellen Sie sich einen virtuellen Moderator vor, der in Echtzeit Konflikte in sozialen Medien erkennt und intervenierend eingreift. Der Moderator kann den Usern und Userinnen zum Beispiel eine Übersicht aller bisher in der Diskussion vorgebrachten Argumente zeigen, um eine konstruktive und deliberative Diskussion zu ermöglichen. 

Image
Das Projekt wird von der VolkswagenStiftung in der Förderlinie Künstliche Intelligenz - Ihre Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft von morgen für 4 Jahre gefördert. 
 

01 Aug 2021

Projektbeginn DeLab

Das kollaborative Projekt DeLab beginnt. Unsere Webseite ist online und wir freuen uns, mit der Arbeit zu beginnen. 

01 Aug 2021

Der bisherige Ansatz zur Kontrolle von Beleidigungen und Hassnachrichten in sozialen Medien geht über ein Löschen der Nachrichten nicht hinaus. Wir wollen deshalb einen virtuellen Moderator entwickeln, der auf Basis künstlicher Intelligenz erkennt, wann Diskussionen in sozialen Medien einen zunehmend destruktiven Charakter aufweisen. Darüber hinaus soll der virtuelle Moderator auch intervenierend in die Debatte eingreifen und dazu beitragen, eine Eskalation zu verhindern.